Business (BA): BA 105 Rumery

For articles and data on your topic – select an appropriate database.  Search several!

Keyword searches are easy, and you usually get plenty of results because the system/database/search engine will look for your keywords anywhere in the description of the item, website, article, etc. Subject searches or SUBJECT HEADINGS are specific words used by librarians or catalogers to describe the main topics of an item, article, website, etc.

Some main keywords and subjects search strategies for your mini business plan assignment are listed below

entrepreneurship

“business planning”

“marketing strategy”

“market research”

competition

"industry report"

Searching Databases

• Business Abstracts with Full Text:  Articles
• Small Business Reference Center:  Business plans, Industry Information by Small Business type
• ABI/INFORM Collection:  Articles, industry reports, companies
• Demographics Now: statistics, people, maps – Loads SLOWLY

For data, statistics and information online try the [BA Web Resources] tab and also take a look at the [Statistical Resources] Subject Guide.

Searching the Web

• SBA: Small Business Administration Business Guide
• Right Place Program: West Michigan business information
• Michigan US Census and Demographic Highlights
• North American Classification System NAICS:  the standard classification system used by federal agencies to analyze and publish statistical data (replaced SIC codes)
• Data.gov: US General Services Administration’s government data online
• BizStats:  Free business statistics and financial data
• Zoom Prospector: This online tool helps companies choose the best locations for their facilities based on market data provided by a network of communities.
• KnowThis.com: Pricing and Price Setting Web links
• Hoover’s:  Searchable business profiles, financial data, key personnel, and an overview of the company and its markets. Some for $$$.

• American Customer Satisfaction Index: Customer Service Benchmarks

Where will you find info once you graduate? http://mel.org/databases