Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Selected Reference Books
Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy by
Call Number: 327.73 EN19 2002
Publication Date: 2001-12-01
General category coverage includes concepts and doctrines, policymaking, commerce and science, human rights and arms control.
Encyclopedia of the United States in the Nineteenth Century by
Publication Date: 2000-12-13
While other resources focus on different aspects of the 19th century, such as the Civil War or immigration, this is the first truly comprehensive treatment to cover all aspects of 19th-century history including: population, politics and government, economy and work, society and culture, religion, social problems and reform, everyday life and foreign policy.
U. S. Diplomacy from World War I Through World War II by
Publication Date: 2010-04-01
The Historical Dictionary of U.S. Diplomacy from World War I through World War II relates the events of this crucial period in U.S. history through a chronology, an introductory essay, and over 600 cross-referenced dictionary entries on key persons, places, events, institutions, and organizations."
History of American Foreign Relations Databases
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to the highest-quality academic journals, books, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Collection of online reference works including Milestone Documents in World History which contains some fulltext primary documents from Latin History including Simón Bolívar’s Cartagena Manifesto, Emiliano Zapata’s Plan of Ayala and Fidel Castro’s History Will Absolve M
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Social Sciences Full Text provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language journals published in the social sciences.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Mostly full-text. Comprehensive sociology research database covering the broad spectrum of sociological study, including Communication studies. The database utilizes subject headings from a built-in sociological thesaurus for better search results.
World History Collection
(A subset of Academic OneFile) This collection provides well-rounded coverage of both the current thinking and events in World History, as well as scholarly work being established in the field. Over 150 full-text history journals are included.
World History in Video
Wide-ranging collection of critically acclaimed documentaries including some coverage of Latin American history from the earliest civilizations to the late twentieth century. Also includes historical newsreels documenting major Latin American events (e.g. Cuban Revolution).
Selected Primary Sources
The National Security Archive - George Washington University
Founded in 1985 the National Security Archive combines a unique range of functions: investigative journalism center, research institute on international affairs, library and archive of declassified U.S. documents.
American State Papers
The American State Papers, comprising a total of thirty-eight physical volumes, contain the legislative and executive documents of Congress during the period 1789 to 1838.
The Serial Set contains the House and Senate Documents and the House and Senate Reports. Coverage is 1833-1917.
Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS)
The Foreign Relations of the United States series presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity. The series, which is produced by the State Department's Office of the Historian, began in 1861 and now comprises more than 450 individual volumes. The volumes published over the last two decades increasingly contain declassified records from all the foreign affairs agencies.