Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Selected Reference Books
Encyclopedia of Cuba by
Call Number: Reference - 1st Floor 972.91 EN19 2003
Publication Date: 2015-01-01
This encyclopedia presents important research on Cuba.
The Peoples of the Caribbean by
Call Number: Reference - 1st Floor 972.9 SA87p 2004
Publication Date: 2005-12-16
A true "first," this encyclopedia is the only comprehensive guide ever published on the archaeology and traditional culture of the Caribbean.
Latin American History Databases - Find Journal Articles, etc.
Caribbean Search This link opens in a new window
Caribbean Search is the most extensive research database of full-text content pertaining to the countries and people of the Caribbean. Covering all areas of Caribbean study, it includes hundreds of full-text journals, magazines, newspapers, reports and reference books.
Gale World Scholar: Latin America & the Caribbean This link opens in a new window
World Scholar: Latin America & the Caribbean brings together a collection of primary source documents about Latin America and the Caribbean; academic journals and news feeds covering the region; reference articles and commentary; maps and statistics; audio and video.
Latin America & Iberia Database This link opens in a new window
This database contains ongoing full-text academic journals published in Latin American countries, Spain, and Portugal. The subjects cover major areas of study, including business, science, technology, engineering, social sciences, education, and humanities.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
A broad range of topics is covered in this general database, which includes full-text articles from thousands of periodicals as well as some reference books.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Social Sciences Full Text provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language journals published in the social sciences.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Mostly full-text. Comprehensive sociology research database covering the broad spectrum of sociological study, including Communication studies. The database utilizes subject headings from a built-in sociological thesaurus for better search results.
Collection of online reference works including Milestone Documents in World History which contains some fulltext primary documents from Latin History including Simón Bolívar’s Cartagena Manifesto, Emiliano Zapata’s Plan of Ayala and Fidel Castro’s History Will Absolve M
World History Collection
(A subset of Academic OneFile) This collection provides well-rounded coverage of both the current thinking and events in World History, as well as scholarly work being established in the field. Over 150 full-text history journals are included.
World History in Video
Wide-ranging collection of critically acclaimed documentaries including some coverage of Latin American history from the earliest civilizations to the late twentieth century. Also includes historical newsreels documenting major Latin American events (e.g. Cuban Revolution).