Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History: History Primary Sources

A guide to library resources for history.

Primary Sources - American History

Primary Sources - World History

Ebooks with Primary Sources

Milestone Documents in World History

Combining full-text primary sources with in-depth expert analysis, the 125 entries cover important and influential primary source documents from the third millennium BCE to the twenty-first century and include documents including laws, legal codes, letters, treaties, constitutions, royal edicts and political speeches.

Milestone Documents in American History

Milestone Documents in American History offers students and researchers in-depth analytical essays illuminating famous primary source documents from U.S. history. Each entry in this set includes the full text of the document in question as well as critical analysis that places the document in its historical context.

Milestone Documents in African American History

Includes 125 iconic primary documents from the 1600s to the present. Each entry offers the full text of the document as well as an in-depth, analytical essay that places the document in its historical context. Among the sources included are critical Supreme Court decisions; and iconic speeches and writings by leaders such as Sojourner Truth, Booker T. Washington, Martin Luther King, Jr., and Barack Obama.

Defining Documents in World History: The Ancient World (2700 B.C.E. - C.500 C.E.)

Covering topics from Gilgamesh to Ancient Egypt to the Fall of Rome, this volume provides easy-to-use tools to engage, enlighten, and give students a new frame of reference to study and analyze the most important documents from Ancient History.

Defining Documents in American History: Exploration and Colonial America (1492-1755)

This begins with a collection of exploration and colonial documents, including important journals of exploration, reports of New World settlements, early political tracts on self-governing. Also included are narratives on colonial life and slavery and indentured servitude.

Defining Documents in American History: The American Revolution, 1754-1805

The American Revolution (1754-1805) chronicles key documents during the revolutionary era. Included are founding documents, speeches and political tracts, political sermons, and letters. Also included are Native American and African slave narratives.

Defining Documents in American History: Manifest Destiny and the New Nation, 1803-1860

This volume is centered on the following themes: Antebellum Law & Politics - Manifest Destiny - The Spirit of Reform - African American Protest Literature - The New American Identity - Religious Expansion - Native American Land & Autonomy. This collection will introduce students and educators to a diverse range of genres, including journals, letters, speeches, government legislation, and court opinions.

Defining Documents in American History: The Civil War, 1860-1865

Defining Documents in American History: The Civil War is centered on the following themes: - Disunion: The Sectional Crisis - The Politics of War - War Stories - The Home Front - The Destruction of Slavery - Post War: The Politics of Race.

Defining Documents in American History: Reconstruction Era (1865-1877)

Offers in-depth critical analysis of 20 primary source documents. A document analysis, written by professional writers and historians, guides readers in understanding key elements of language, rhetoric, and social and political meaning that define the significance of the author and document in American history.

Defining Documents in American History: The American West (1836-1900)

Written by historians and experts in the field, this resource examines a wide array of primary source documents with an in-depth critical analysis. A document analysis guides readers in understanding key elements of language, rhetoric, and social and political meaning that define the significance of the author and the document in American history.

Defining Documents in American History: The Emergence of Modern America, (1874-1917)

This important resource provides readers with many new ways to explore the emergence of modern America in the years of 1874 to 1917. The text provides in-depth analysis of nearly fifty primary source documents to deliver a thorough examination of this important time in American history.

Defining Documents in American History: World War I (1914-1919)

Through in-depth analysis of important primary documents from 1914 to 1919, readers will gain new insight into the causes, issues and lasting effects of this pivotal time in American history.

Defining Documents in American History: World War II (1936-1947)

Through in-depth analysis of important primary documents from 1936 to 1947, readers will gain new insight into the causes, issues, and lasting effects of this pivotal time in American history.

Defining Documents in American History: Post-War 1940s (1945-1949)

This important resource provides students and researchers with many new ways to explore the 1940s, as the country was affected by World War II. The text provides in-depth analysis of more than forty primary documents that help shed light on this historical time.

Defining Documents in American History: The Vietnam War (1956-1975)

Offers students a variety of tools of historical importance to study and analyze vital documents from the Vietnam War. Each in-depth chapter guides readers with historical insight and comprehension. The documents included represent the diversity of ideas and contexts that defined social, political, and cultural subjects throughout this period in American history.

A Vietnam War Reader: A Documentary History from American and Vietnamese Perspectives

This concise collection of primary sources opens a valuable window on an extraordinarily complex conflict. Michael Hunt brings together the views of the conflict's disparate players--from Communist leaders, Vietnamese peasants, Saigon loyalists, and North Vietnamese soldiers to U.S. policymakers, soldiers, and critics of the war. By allowing the participants to speak, this volume encourages readers to formulate their own historically grounded understanding of a still controversial struggle.

Beyond Rosie: A Documentary History of Women and World War II

"Beyond Rosie" offers readers an opportunity to see the numerous contributions women made to the fight against the Axis powers and how American women's roles changed during the war. The primary documents (newspapers, propaganda posters, cartoons, excerpts from oral histories and memoirs, speeches, photographs, and editorials) collected here represent cultural, political, economic, and social perspectives on the diverse roles women played during World War II.

At Home in Nineteenth-Century America: A Documentary History

At Home in Nineteenth-Century America draws upon advice manuals, architectural designs, personal accounts, popular fiction, advertising images, and reform literature to revisit the variety of places Americans called home. Entering into middle-class suburban houses, slave cabins, working-class tenements, frontier dugouts, urban settlement houses, it explores the shifting interpretations and experiences of these spaces from within and without.

American Jewish History: A Primary Source Reader

Presenting the American Jewish historical experience from its communal beginnings to the present through documents, photographs, and other illustrations, these source materials complement existing textbooks on American Jewish history. Ten chapters, organized chronologically, include source materials that highlight the major thematic questions of each era and tell many stories about what it was like to immigrate and acculturate to American life, practice different forms of Judaism, engage with the larger political, economic, and social cultures that surrounded American Jews, and offer assistance to Jews in need around the world.

Asian America: A Primary Source Reader

An essential volume for the growing academic discipline of Asian American studies, this collection of core primary texts draws from a wide range of fields, from law to visual culture to politics, covering key historical and cultural developments. The primary sources, organized around keywords, often concern multiple hemispheres and movements, making this compendium valuable for a number of historical, ethnic, and cultural study programs.

Say We Are Nations: Documents of Politics and Protest in Indigenous America Since 1887

In this wide-ranging and carefully curated anthology, Daniel M. Cobb presents the words of Indigenous people who have shaped Native American rights movements from the late nineteenth century through the present day. Presenting essays, letters, interviews, speeches, government documents, and other testimony, Cobb shows how tribal leaders, intellectuals, and activists deployed a variety of protest methods over more than a century to demand Indigenous sovereignty. The collection's topical breadth, analytical framework, and emphasis on unpublished materials offer students and scholars new sources with which to engage and explore American Indian thought and political action.