Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
RaiderSearch, GRCC's Library Catalog
Search for books, ebooks, and media in the GRCC Library.
Try [Subject] searches for: Information Literacy, Learning, Community Colleges, College Teachers, Media Literacy, Plagiarism, etc.
Connect Newsletter for GRCC Faculty
Library & Learning Commons Tour
Higher Education Databases - Find Articles, etc.
For specific results on "teaching in an academic field", select a database from your academic discipline's [Subject Guides]. The databases are listed in the order of likely best results.
ERIC (Education Resource Information Center)
large professional education database. Search for [Descriptors] including: Service Learning, Character Education, Public Service, Volunteer Teaching, Citizenship Education, School Community Programs, Student Participation, School Community Relationship, Experiential Learning, Student Volunteers.
Professional Development Collection
Professional Development Collection is a highly specialized database of full-text electronic information especially for educators, professional librarians and education researchers.
Education Full Text
Education Full Text includes in-depth coverage of special education and more than 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests. Subject coverage includes adult education, multicultural/ethnic education, teaching methods and much more. Some full-text
Teacher Reference Center
Teacher Reference Center (TRC) indexes over 260 titles from teacher and administrator trade journals, periodicals, and books. This database provides coverage on key education topics such as Assessment, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, Science & Mathematics, and more for K-12 Teachers & Librarians.
The American Psychological Association database for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. This is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Full-text articles from PsycARTICLES are contained in PsycINFO.
Searching for Dissertations & Theses: The publishing world has changed for dissertations and theses. You may find full-text or 25-page previews in subject-related databases (ProQuest Central, ERIC, CINAHL, etc.).
- If you've already identified a dissertation or thesis and are seeking the full-text version, try searching the graduating institution's website or library for that dissertation/thesis title.
- Otherwise, try the following tools to identify the literature - and - if you've lucky - score a free copy of one.
EBSCO Open Dissertations™
a free electronic theses and dissertations database offering access to more than 800,000 ETDs. More and more universities have institutional repositories, so another option for already identified full-text dissertations and theses is to go to the institution's website and search for the author's name and word in the identified title.
The authors of these dissertations and theses have opted to publish as open access. Open Access Publishing is a new service offered by ProQuest's UMI Dissertation Publishing, and we expect to have many more open access dissertations and theses over time.
In addition to open access dissertations and theses, ProQuest offers Dissertation Express where you can order a copy at your own cost.
Department Liaison Librarians
Every academic department and many college initiatives and service departments have been assigned a librarian. The liaison librarian is designated to be an information specialist for your department. Work of the liaison librarian may include:
- attending academic department meetings to better understand your curriculum needs
- creating and curating Subject Guides supporting your department
- handling collection development (selection & weeding) of the print, audiovisual media, and e-formatted materials making up the library collections supporting your department
- working on outside accreditation efforts (please contact your librarian one year prior to accreditors' visits)
- one-on-one and/or department information literacy sessions for faculty
- advise on copyright issues
- assistance with OER materials
- creating information literacy materials for classes taught within the library's instructional program
- assisting departmental committees with research-related needs
If your department does not have a liaison librarian, please contact Nan Schichtel at 616-234-3082.
Other Subject Guides of Interest