Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search GRCC Library OneSearch
Connect Newsletter for GRCC Faculty
Other Subject Guides of Interest
Higher Education Databases
For specific results on "teaching in an academic field", select a database from your academic discipline's [Subject Guides].
Education Full Text This link opens in a new window Education Full Text includes in-depth coverage of special education and more than 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests. Subject coverage includes adult education, multicultural/ethnic education, teaching methods and much more. Some full-text
ERIC (Education Resource Information Center) This link opens in a new window large professional education database. Search for [Descriptors] including: Service Learning, Character Education, Public Service, Volunteer Teaching, Citizenship Education, School Community Programs, Student Participation, School Community Relationship, Experiential Learning, Student Volunteers.
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new windowProfessional Development Collection is a highly specialized database of full-text electronic information especially for educators, professional librarians and education researchers.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window The American Psychological Association database for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. This is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Full-text articles from PsycARTICLES are contained in PsycINFO.
Searching for Dissertations & Theses: You may find full-text or 25-page previews in subject-related databases (ProQuest, ERIC, CINAHL, etc.).
- If you've already identified a dissertation or thesis and seek the full-text version, search the graduating institution's website or library for that dissertation/thesis title.
- Otherwise, try the following tools to identify the literature - and - if you've lucky - score a free copy of one.
- If you cannot locate a free copy, use RaiderLoan to borrow a circulating copy from the graduate's home library.
College & Library Policies and Procedures
Department Liaison Librarians
Every academic department and many service departments and college initiatives are assigned a liaison librarian. The liaison librarian is the designated information specialist for your department. That work may include:
- attending academic department meetings to better understand your curriculum needs.
- creating and curating Subject Guides supporting your department.
- handling collection development (selection & weeding) in all formats making up the library collections supporting your department.
- working on outside accreditation efforts; please contact your librarian one year prior to accreditors' visit.
- one-on-one and/or department information literacy sessions for faculty.
- advice on copyright issues.
- assistance with OER materials.
- creating information literacy materials for classes taught within the library's instructional program.
- assisting departmental committees with research-related needs.
Library & Learning Commons Tour