Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Instructions for Searching Lexile Scores in EBSCO Databases
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
This is a great database to help you understand the pro's and con's of different debatable topics. It's also a handy place to see a list of really interesting topics if you need paper topic ideas and don't know where to start.
How do I limit my searches by Lexile Reading Level in EBSCO Databases?
Several EBSCO databases and interfaces include the ability to limit search results by Lexile Reading Level.
To limit searches by Lexile Reading Level in participating Databases:
Search using the LX search tag, (LX) must be in caps. To see whether the database supports the LX limiter, click the Database Help link on the search screen and scroll down to the Searchable Fields area. If the LX limiter appears, you can enter LX and a Lexile range along with your search terms.
For example, in a database such as Points of View Reference Center, you could enter Iraq AND LX 500 - 750 to find articles about Iraq within that Lexile range.
Searching Lexile Reading Levels in Gale Databases
In the following Gale Databases you can limit by Lexile Reading Level on the advanced search screen.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
A broad range of topics is covered in this general database, which includes full-text articles from thousands of periodicals as well as some reference books.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints in Context is an online resource covering social issues. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes.