Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Instructions for Searching Lexile Scores in EBSCO Databases
How do I limit my searches by Lexile Reading Level in EBSCO Databases?
Several EBSCO databases and interfaces include the ability to limit search results by Lexile Reading Level.
To limit searches by Lexile Reading Level in participating Databases:
Search using the LX search tag, (LX) must be in caps. To see whether the database supports the LX limiter, click the Database Help link on the search screen and scroll down to the Searchable Fields area. If the LX limiter appears, you can enter LX and a Lexile range along with your search terms.
For example, in a database such as Points of View Reference Center, you could enter Iraq AND LX 500 - 750 to find articles about Iraq within that Lexile range.
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
This is a great database to help you understand the pro's and con's of different debatable topics. It's also a handy place to see a list of really interesting topics if you need paper topic ideas and don't know where to start.
Searching Lexile Reading Levels in Gale Databases
In the following Gale Databases you can limit by Lexile Reading Level on the advanced search screen.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints in Context is an online resource covering social issues. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes.
Books in the Catalog with Lexile Reading Levels
Arthur Ashe by
Call Number: 921 As35ma
Publication Date: 1999-03-01
Discusses the personal life and sports career of the African-American tennis champion, Arthur Ashe, as well as his struggles with racism and AIDS.
Unforgivable Blackness by
Call Number: 921 J633r
Publication Date: 2004-10-26
He was the first black heavyweight champion in history, the most celebrated and the most revile African American of his age. Johnson battled his way from obscurity to the top of the heavyweight ranks and in 1908 won the greatest prize in American sports. At a time when whites ran everything in America, he took orders from no one and resolved to live as if color did not exist.
Tuesdays with Morrie by
Call Number: 921 SCH95a
Publication Date: 1997-08-18
Mitch reconnects with his college mentor (Morrie) only to find out that his mentor is dying. Their rekindled relationship turned into one final "class": lessons in how to live. Tuesdays with Morrie is a magical chronicle of their time together, through which Mitch shares Morrie's lasting gift with the world.
The Glass Castle by
Call Number: 921 W159
Publication Date: 2009-10-06
Jeannette Walls and her three siblings grew up in a dysfunctional family plague with poverty, alcoholism and neglect. In the beginning, they lived a pretty good life but things changed once their family moved to West Virginia. This book highlights Jeanette's struggles growing up but she also has a unique affection for parents.
The Five People You Meet in Heaven by
Call Number: Albom
Publication Date: 2003-09-23
Eddie is a wounded war veteran, an old man who has lived, in his mind, an uninspired life. His job is fixing rides at a seaside amusement park. On his 83rd birthday, a tragic accident kills him, as he tries to save a little girl from a falling cart. He awakes in the afterlife, where he learns that heaven is not a destination. It's a place where your life is explained to you by five people. This books visits the question "Why was I here?"
Lord of the Flies by
Call Number: GoldingW
Publication Date: 1997-08-01
Before The Hunger Games there was Lord of the Flies first published in 1954. William Golding's compelling story about a group of very ordinary small boys marooned on a coral island has become a modern classic. At first it seems as though it is all going to be great fun; but the fun before long becomes furious and life on the island turns into a nightmare of panic and death. As ordinary standards of behaviour collapse, the whole world the boys know collapses.
Frederick Douglass by
Publication Date: 1991-01-01
This biography of Frederick Douglass covers the life of an orator, abolitionist and writer. Douglass was one of the most powerful voices for freedom in the United States and his autobiographies (Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass) have shaped the American view of slavery.
Mistaken Identity by
Call Number: 617.1028 N691ryn
Publication Date: 2008-03-25
Meet Laura Van Ryn and Whitney Cerak: one buried under the wrong name, one in a coma and being cared for by the wrong family.This shocking case of mistaken identity stunned the country and made national news. Read this unprecedented story of two traumatized families who describe their ordeal and explore the bond sustaining and uniting them as they deal with their bizarre reversal of life lost and life found.
Call Number: 940.54 H557
Publication Date: 2010-11-16
On a May afternoon in 1943, an Army Air Forces bomber crashed into the Pacific Ocean and disappeared, leaving only a spray of debris and a slick of oil, gasoline, and blood. Then, on the ocean surface, a face appeared. It was that of a young lieutenant, the plane's bombardier, who was struggling to a life raft and pulling himself aboard. So began one of the most extraordinary odysseys of the Second World War.