Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Citing Sources: Database Citation Tools

Use this guide as a resource when you cite sources.

Citing Articles from ProQuest Databases

ProQuest databases offer a 'Cite' option in the toolbar at the top of the page when viewing the full-text of a record.

  • Clicking on the 'Cite' icon creates a properly formatted citation in a new window. Choose the correct citation style.
  • Copy and paste the citation into your document.
    • TIP: Choose the "Email" icon to have the full-text article sent to you along with the citation!
  • Double-check citation for errors.

Examples of ProQuest databases:

  • ProQuest Central
  • ProQuest Research Library

Click here for a complete list of ProQuest databases.

Citing Articles from EBSCOhost Databases

EBSCOhost databases offer a 'Cite' option when viewing full records, which is located in the 'Tools' box on the right side of the database screen.

  • Clicking on the 'Cite' icon creates a properly formatted citation in a new window. Choose the correct citation style.
  • Copy and paste the citation into your document.
    • TIP: Choose the 'Email' icon to have the full-text article sent to you along with the citation!
  • Double-check citation for errors.

Examples of EBSCOhost databases:

  • Applied Science & Technology Source
  • CINAHL Complete
  • ERIC
  • Humanities Full Text
  • Social Sciences Full Text

Click here for a complete list of EBSCOhost databases.

 

Citing Articles from Gale Databases

Gale databases offer a 'Cite' option in the toolbar at the top of the page when viewing the full-text of a record.

  • Clicking on the 'Cite' icon creates a properly formatted citation in a new window. Choose the correct citation style.
  • Copy and paste the citation into your document.
    • TIP: Choose the 'Email' icon to have the full-text article sent to you along with the citation!
  • Double-check citation for errors.

Examples of Gale databases:

  • Academic OneFile
  • General OneFile

Click here for a complete list of Gale databases.