Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library & Learning Commons Tour
PY 100 Databases - Find Articles, etc.
Try these most-used databases - and be sure to ask a librarian if you don't find what you need.
Ferguson's Career Guidance Center
So many careers, so little time....
ProQuest Research Library provides access to a wide range of popular academic subjects from business and political science to literature and psychology. The database includes more than 4,070 titles, nearly 2,800 in full text, from 1971 forward. It includes a diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
This database is more focused on "smart" topics. It includes references in scholarly, academic journals, along with some from more general magazine sources. AOF is useful in almost any college-level class.
Points of View Reference Center
This is a great database to help you understand the pro's and con's of different debatable topics. It's also a handy place to see a list of really interesting topics if you need paper topic ideas and don't know where to start.
Terrific source for articles from over 600 "real" reference BOOKS on: Art, Business, Food & Beverage, General Reference, Geography, History, Language, Law, Literature, Medicine, Music, Philosophy, Psychology, Religion, Science, Social Sciences, and Technology
curated educational videos; TED-Ed platform allows users to take any useful educational video, not just TED's, and easily create a customized lesson around the video.
Adult Developmental Education
The Academic Foundations Program (AFP) helps students learn how to learn in a college environment. Students in the AFP program have been identified by GRCC testing as having the potential to be successful in college and beyond, yet they need further work with reading, writing, and mathematics to be fully college ready. AFP gives under-prepared students the competitive edge they need to handle hard classes and earn their degree. The AFP program offers classes in English, mathematics, reading, and adjustment to college.
GRCC's Developmental Course Information
At GRCC we strive to make higher education accessible to everyone who wishes to achieve their academic as well as their personal goals. In adult and developmental education, we primarily focus on two of GRCC's five values: ACCESS and STUDENT SUCCESS.