Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search GRCC OneSearch
Start searching for print and eBooks, streaming video, articles, and more.
Library & Learning Commons Tour
Other Subject Guides of Interest
Political Sciences Databases - Find Articles, etc.
The first group of Databases, listed in order of use, are some of the most important scholarly sources for Political Science searching at GRCC.
Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
Designed specifically for students, researchers and government institutions, this full-text database covers political topics with a worldwide focus, reflecting the globalization of contemporary political discourse.
Political Science Database This link opens in a new window
Political Science Database gives users access to hundreds of leading political science, public policy, and international relations journals. It also includes thousands of recent full-text doctoral dissertations on political science topics, together with working papers, conference proceedings, country reports, policy papers and other sources.
CQ Researcher Online This link opens in a new window
Original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news, including science issues.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR typically contains full-runs of journals up through the last 4-5 years - BUT usually not the most recent years. Use the [Advanced Search] function to run your search ONLY in the journal subsets that make sense for your assignment; (Political Science, Public Health & Administrations, Urban Studies, etc.)
New York Times
Full-Text New York Times. You must create your own Group Pass account using your GRCC email address in order to access this service.
New York Times "Times Machine"
Must login first to your FREE New York Times Online access (above), then click this link.
Alt-PressWatch This link opens in a new window
This database provides full-text articles for over 210 publications of the alternative and independent presses, from 1970 to current. Subjects include policy; government; local, regional and international issues.
Legal Source This link opens in a new window
Providing indexing and full-text coverage of the most respected scholarly law journals, Legal Source covers current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world. It is an excellent resource for attorneys, educators, business people, law librarians, students, paralegals and others involved with the law.
Legal Information Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Legal Information Reference Center is an online database designed to assist the general public in legal matters of all kinds. It includes exclusive full text for many top consumer legal reference books, as well as thousands of legal forms.
The following are omnibus databases covering much more than political science.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
A broad range of topics is covered in this general database, which includes full-text articles from thousands of periodicals as well as some reference books.
Newsbank: America's News Magazines This link opens in a new window
Full text of 27 popular magazines covering topics such as U.S. and international news, business, lifestyle, entertainment, sports, and science and technology.
Newsbank: Michigan Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Full-text of the Detroit News: 1999 to current, Grand Rapids Press: 2000 to current, and the Traverse City Record-Eagle: 2008-Current
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for hundreds of national (U.S.), international and regional newspapers. In addition, it offers television and radio news transcripts from major networks.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
This is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, and Humanities.
The last two databases cover many political science topics in a PRO-CON debate style format.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints in Context is an online resource covering social issues. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes.
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
A series of essays and periodical articles on controversial topics that present multiple sides of a current issue. The articles provide questions and materials for further thought and study and are accompanied by supporting references from political and societal publications
Political Science at GRCC