Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ferguson's Career Guidance Center
Covers over 3800 careers in job profiles found in articles from books; discover job & industry job cluster profiles; read about job-hunting and workplace skills; view career & industry resources, and take a career interest assessment. Ferguson's also provides college planning and financial aid basics.
Films on Demand - Master Career & Technical Education Collection
GRCC licenses the Master Career & Technical Education Collection in addition to a small selection of other video titles.
Fashion Professional Organizations
Fashion Schools and Institutes
Fashion as a Career -- Books
Call Number: 331.702 F262gra
Publication Date: 2012-03-20
Fashion: The Industry and Its Careers, 2nd Edition, offers a thorough and informative exploration of fashion careers across the board, including designer, textile manufacturer, retailer, wholesaler, illustrator, model, product developer, journalist, publicist, trend forecaster, and more. For each career covered, readers will learn about what to expect on the job, required education and training, how to advance to a management role, relationship to the industry as a whole, and future outlook. This 2nd edition has been completely updated to reflect recent developments in technology, world economics, and globalization.
The Fashion Intern by
Call Number: 331.702 F262gr
Publication Date: 2010-03-22
This comprehensive and easy-to-read new edition of The Fashion Intern first guides students in preparing to search for and secure an internship, and then challenges the student to critique the internship organization from the perspective of a business analyst.
In Fashion by
Call Number: 331.702 F262iv
Publication Date: 2010-08-10
If you've ever dreamed of working at Vogue, photographing supermodels, or outfitting celebrities, In Fashion will equip you with everything you need to know to get an "in" into fashion. Former beauty and fashion news director of Harper's Bazaarnbsp;and editor in chief of Seventeen, Annemarie Iverson--the outsider's insider--knows just how to get noticed and stay on top.
Starting Your Career As a Photo Stylist by
Call Number: 331.702 P566c
Publication Date: 2012-04-01
This invaluable career manual explores the numerous directions a career in photo styling can take. Starting Your Career as a Photo Stylist prepares new and working stylists with in-depth information on food styling, fashion styling, and six other areas of specialization. Readers will also learn everything they need to know about practical aspects of the profession, including production, casting, location scouting, working with a photo crew, creating a portfolio, and marketing their work.
The Teen Vogue Handbook by
Call Number: 331.702 F262t
Publication Date: 2009-10-05
Amy Astley, Teen Vogue Editor-in-Chief, says: "The Teen Vogue Handbook is a dream book, a truly creative book filled with tips on the stylish life from the top people in the industry." The key to this book is the mix of beautiful pictures, career advice and profiles of everyone and every aspect of the fashion industry. There are hugely famous people interviewed (Marc Jacobs, Bruce Weber, Patrick DeMarchelier) alongside assistants and others who are just getting started. The book includes 6 sections: Designers, Editors, Stylists, Beauty, Photographers and Models.And in every section, the people in the profile share simple tips on how to live the Teen Vogue lifestyle, now.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
Visit the Occupational Outlook Handbook for more information about careers, including salary and job outlook.
Web sites related to Fashion careeers