Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library & Learning Commons Tour
English Databases - Find Articles, etc.
In addition to OneSearch, try these databases for news, magazine, and journal articles for writing your papers:
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
A broad range of topics is covered in this general database, which includes full-text articles from thousands of periodicals as well as some reference books.
CQ Researcher Online This link opens in a new window
Original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news, including science issues.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to the highest-quality academic journals, books, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles and essays covering social issues.
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Provides pro's and con's of different debatable topics; it also has a list of interesting topics if you need paper topic ideas.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
This is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, and Humanities.
Ferguson's Career Guidance Center This link opens in a new window
Covers over 3800 careers in job profiles found in articles from books.
Grand Rapids Press This link opens in a new window
Grand Rapids articles from 2000-current.
Newsbank: Michigan Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Full-text of Michigan newspapers including the Detroit News: 1999 to current, Grand Rapids Press: 2000 to current, and more.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive sociology research database covering the broad spectrum of sociological study.
Other Subject Guides of Interest