Subject Guides: English as a Second Language (ESL): ESL Web Resources

Evaluate Websites

Remember to always evaluate a website before using it for research purposes.

Some criteria for evaluating websites include:

Accuracy
Authority
Currency
Purpose /Objectivity
Relevance

See more information on evaluating web resources. If you have any questions about the quality of a website, Ask-A-Librarian for help!

Local Resources

Literacy Center of West Michigan
For more than 20 years, the Literacy Center has helped thousands of people learn to read and improve their English language skills.
Adult Education at Grand Rapids Public Schools
FREE English As A Second Language (ESL) classes are for students whose native language is not English. Classes for students at the beginning, intermediate, and advanced proficiency levels.
more...less...
Call 616-819-3253. Must bring a valid picture ID with you at registration. Students need to be 20 yrs. of age before September 1 of the current school year. Proof of graduation must be presented by students under 20 yrs. of age to attend.
ELS | English in Grand Rapids
Affiliated with Grand Valley State University, ELS provides students with a wide variety of options ranging from intensive English programs and university placement assistance to executive business programs and vacation learning options. ELS has helped more than 1,100,000 students from 175 countries around the world learn English.
more...less...
Phone: (616) 892-5720

Address: 10745 48th Avenue, Suite 110
Allendale, MI 49401

ESL at GRCC

ESL Assessment
Students need to score 181 – 235 in the CASAS Pre-test to be eligible in our program per state requirements.

The ESL & Citizenship Learning Corner at GRCC is a good place to start. The purpose of Adult Education's English as a Second Language (ESL) program is to equip English Language Learners (ELLs) with the language skills necessary to function comparably to their Native-English peers in real-life work, community, academic and social situations.

ESL Courses at GRCC
Classes are offered at four levels in the following categories:

* listening and speaking
* writing and grammar
* reading and vocabulary

Web Sites

Activities for ESL Students
Quizzes, tests, exercises and puzzles to help you learn English as a Second Language (ESL)
This project of The Internet TESL Journal (iteslj.org) has thousands of contributions by many teachers.
Using English (UE)
A large collection of English as a Second Language (ESL) tools & resources for students, teachers, learners and academics, covering the full spectrum of ESL, EFL, ESOL, and EAP subject areas.
BBC Learning English
Web site designed to help people learn the English language, including grammar, vocabulary and pronunciation.
English Grammar Secrets
English grammar lessons for self study.
The Internet Picture Dictionary
The Internet Picture Dictionary is a completely free, online multilingual picture dictionary designed especially for ESL students and beginning English, French, German, Spanish and Italian language learners of all ages.
Language Guide
A collaborative project to develop interactive, sound-integrated language learning resources.
Purdue University Online Writing Lab for ESL Students
The OWL provides resources that will help ESL students in second language writing and includes workshops and exercises.
Daily ESL
Listen to short conversations about every day life that you can apply in real situations.
Dave's ESL Internet Cafe
This site provides online help for both ESL students and teachers including quizzes, grammar lessons, forums and more.

Librarian

Sophia Brewer

Email Me

Contact:

616.234.3868 (Reference)

616.234.3867 (Office)

Subjects: Adult & Developmental Education, Reference