English as a Second Language (ESL): ESL Reference & Ebooks

This visual dictionary employs more than 6,000 full-color pictures to illustrate a vast array of objects and their corresponding names in English, French, German, Italian, and Spanish.

It can be a challenge writing in a language that is not your native tongue. This book looks at both student and academic second language writing, using qualitative text analysis, corpus investigations and ethnography to searchingly examine issues central to the EAP field.

Build your English language skills and grow your career with English for Everyone: Business, Practice Book. English for Everyone: Business, Practice Book makes it easier to learn the English you need to succeed in the workplace. More than 700 exercises use graphics and visuals to develop English skills in presenting, writing formal e-mails, filling out job applications, networking, and other common workplace scenarios.

This book presents current research in the study of ESL, including brain plasticity and phonetic training in ESL; using authentic newspaper texts in teaching intermediate vocabulary in ESL learners; EFL/ESL teaching in China; and improving reading skills for ESL learners using SoundSpel.

Build your English language skills and grow your career with English for Everyone: Business, Course Book. A visual guide to learning English, English for Everyone: Business, Course Book is a complete self-study course that makes workplace language easy to learn.

A Fun ESL guide to American culture and language English USA Every Day helps familiarize immigrants and ESL learners with American culture and language in a fun, lighthearted way. Readers will learn about everything from finding a job and locating an organic grocery store to facts about American culture and enjoying the night life. Each chapter includes new vocabulary and idioms that are common in the U.S.A., as well as fun activities such as true or false questions, crosswords, matching games, "Write It Down," "Stop and Think," "Story Time," and more that help reinforce the lessons. There are also 2--4 dialogues in each chapter that show how people speak conversationally, with new vocabulary and idioms to learn and practice. Accompanying audio for each dialogue helps listeners learn how to speak just like Americans. An answer key is included at the back of the book.

Premium Edition with CD! ESL Beginner covers the basic English grammar for those just learning the language. Topics include nouns and noun phrases, verbs, simple sentences, compound sentences, and modifiers. Students enhance their speaking abilities through individual exercises, class discussions, and group projects that are both fun and effective learning devices. This new Premium Edition includes versatile Vocabulary-Building Games plus a Vocabulary Enhancer chart on CD, helping ESL beginning students sharpen their skills even further!   DETAILS - Reading and listening exercises with simple explanations that allow students to master grammar through practice - Extensive solo practice and group activities - Includes CD-ROM with Vocabulary-Building Games and Vocabulary Enhancer chart - Superb preparation for students taking the TOEFL (Test of English as a Foreign Language)   REA...Real review, Real practice, Real results.

Premium Edition with CD!  ESL Grammar is designed for intermediate and advanced high school and college-level non-native speakers of English who need to improve their ESL (English as a Second Language) grammar skills. ESL Intermediate/Advanced Grammar provides students with simple explanations of grammar, skill-building exercises, detailed answer keys, and test-taking techniques. It's the perfect companion for classroom use or self-guided studies in ESL. This new Premium Edition includes a CD-ROM containing versatile Vocabulary-Building games plus a Vocabulary Enhancer chart, helping ESL students to sharpen their grammar skills even further!   DETAILS - Grammar-oriented exercises with simple explanations that allow students to master concepts through extensive practice - Test-taking techniques featuring strategies for success on ESL tests - Comprehensive Glossary - Includes CD-ROM with Vocabulary-Building Games and Vocabulary Enhancer chart - Superb preparation for students taking the TOEFL (Test of English as a Foreign Language)   REA...Real review, Real practice, Real results.

This book is a compendium of useful and interesting information for ESL teachers.

The ESL Writer’s Handbookis a reference work for ESL students who are taking college-level courses. Because its purpose is to provide help with the broad variety of writing questions students may have when working on school assignments, the text focuses on English for Academic Purposes.

After more than 20 years of research, this is the first book-length treatment of second language task repetition - the repetition of encounters with a task that involve re-using the same content with the same overall purpose. The topic links task performance with the growing mastery of both the task and of relevant language, and constitutes a site with special potential to promote learning within and across language lessons, and for preparing students for assessment and of course real-world language performance. The volume assembles chapters that complement each other in interesting ways: significant background reviews, studies of patterns of change across task repetition iterations, and reports on the use and nature of task repetition in language classes in on-going programmes. Contributors draw on a variety of interpretive frameworks and report from a range of language educational contexts. The volume will be of interest to language researchers, teacher educators, teachers, and students, as well as others interested in the contribution of task repetition to learning.

This book centralizes the narratives of adult English language learners, teachers, and trainee teachers in the development of a humanistic language pedagogy; their strengths, concerns, and stories inform this practical guide to adult literacy development and English language-culture learning and teaching. The author sets the need to educate the whole person, and to focus on the adult learner's strengths and assets, against a background of rigorous research and practical experience. This book combines evidence-based pedagogy with a passionate belief in the centrality of the learner and the importance of education and will be invaluable to all those involved in teaching and training related to adult English language learners.

Concise definitions of the wider subject of linguistics, including phonetics and transformational grammar, are accompanied by examples of language in use, and frequent quotations from existing works on grammar.

Features skill-building exercises, a focus on practical conversational skills, and clear explanations accompanied by highlighted examples and summaries of key points. Includes exercises in a variety of formats, including fill-in-the-blank sentences, translations, multiple-choice questions, sentence rewriting, and creative writing exercises with answers in the back of the book.

Unlike most languages - which usually have only a few prepositions to serve many different communication needs- English has dozen of them and almost none follows any clear, consistent set of rules. This book offers practical guidelines for correct usage, and provides hundreds of examples that incorporate all of the prepositions into familiar contexts. A total of 61 prepositions are examined.

A perfect companion for speakers of Spanish studying English and preparing for tests Includes essential school vocabulary Compiled from the Bank of English, a 650-million-word English database Spelling and translation alternatives build language proficiency

Beginning Advanced. Bright Ideas is a compilation of 101 motivating activities for upper elementary and secondary ESL/Bilingual students. Each activity is classified according to skill level, objective, function/grammar, and ESL theme to allow for flexibility. Activities are grouped into five units and include detailed instructions to teachers.

1500 American Idioms, Slang, and Phrases helpful for all but especially ESL people seeking to learn nuances about American English. Test Prep for all students; and wonderful readers for curious adults.

Correct pronunciation and proper enunciation: these are the keys to effective American English spoken communication. And nothing reinforces these building blocks of speech quite like Instant Immersion™ English Grammar & Pronunciation, the dynamic audio product on 8 CDs. Whatever your native language or level of American English familiarity, Instant Immersion™ English Grammar & Pronunciation is designed to introduce non-English speakers to proper articulation of vowels and consonants, correct syllable emphasis, and accurate vocal inflection, all set to a lively lesson plan of practical American English vocabulary. Not a phrase book, not a translation guide, Instant Immersion™ English Grammar & Pronunciation is the speedy, sophisticated route to proper American English, for all non-native speakers.