Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
RaiderSearch, GRCC's Library Catalog
Search for ebooks, and articles about Astronomy & Astrophysics in the GRCC Library.
Constellation Tutor Software
Constellation Tutor software is available to use via a thumb drive. Just ask your instructor for details.
Other Subject Guides of Interest
Astronomy Databases - Find Articles, etc.
Databases are listed in the order of suggested use.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
A database for research in all the academic disciplines to locate peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Subject searches may include: Astronomy, Astronomers, "Solar System", etc.
General Science Full Text This link opens in a new window
General Science Full Text provides full text from more than 100 periodicals dating as far back as 1995, in addition to indexing and abstracts for nearly 300 periodicals dating back to 1984. Periodical coverage includes popular science magazines as well as professional journals.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
The JSTOR project seeks to develop online access to the full back files of selected journals. The database contains a digitized image of every page and is searchable by every word.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
This is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, and Humanities.
Calvin Observatory - during the summer, the observatory, operated by Calvin College, is open to the public on clear Wednesday evenings. The dome opens one hour after sunset, and remains open until midnight.
Chaffee Planetarium - housed in the Grand Rapids Public Museum, the newly renovated Chaffee Planetarium features the latest Digistar projection technology and immersive surround sound.
James C. Veen Observatory - located south of Lowell, the observatory is owned and operated by the Grand Rapids Amateur Astronomical Association. It is open to the public on the second and last Saturdays of the month (April through October), if the skies are clear.
GRCC's Physical Science's Department
The Physical Science Department is comprised of the disciplines of Astronomy, Chemistry, Geology, and Physics. Includes information about course offerings, scholarships, and service learning.
Library & Learning Commons Tour