Subject Guides: Education: Reference Materials

Select Print Reference Books

Handbook of Infant Development by J. Gavin Bremner (Editor); Theodore D. Wachs (Editor)
Call Number: Reference 305.231 W648 2010
ISBN: 9781405178747
Publication Date: 2010-09-20
The Wiley-Blackwell Handbook of Infant Development provides comprehensive coverage of the basic research and applied and policy issues relating to infant development. Features contributions by leading international researchers and practitioners in the field that reflect the most current theories and research findings
Encyclopedia of Early Childhood Education by Doris Pronin Fromberg (Editor); Leslie R. Williams (Editor)
Call Number: Reference 372.21 En19f 2011
ISBN: 9780415672511
Publication Date: 2011-12-08
This Encyclopedia contains the most up-to-date scientific knowledge available on the development of young children, from conception to age five. Most topics are explored from three perspectives: development, services and policy and the papers gathered under each topic are written by internationally renowned experts.

Getting Started with Reference

Reference books and articles are great places to get started on your topic. Find basic information, overviews, brief histories, statistics, and lists of further sources. Reference materials are on the first floor of the library and online through the library databases.

Select Reference eBooks

The SAGE Encyclopedia of Contemporary Early Childhood Education by Donna Couchenour (Editor); J. Kent Chrisman (Editor)
Call Number: E-book
ISBN: 9781483340357
Publication Date: 2016-09-02
This encyclopedia presents advanced research, accurate practical applications of research, historical foundations and key facts from the field of contemporary early childhood education. Through approximately 450 entries, this work includes all areas of child development - physical, cognitive, language, social, emotional, aesthetic - as well as comprehensive review of best educational practices with young children, effective preparation for early childhood professionals and policy making practices.
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Child Development by Brian Hopkins (Editor); Ronald G. Barr (As told to); George F. Michel (As told to); Philippe Rochat (As told to)
Call Number: E-book
ISBN: 9780521651172
Publication Date: 2005-09-08
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Child Development is a definitive, accessible and up-to-date account of all aspects of child development. It adopts an interdisciplinary approach covering topics that range from neonatal development to education, encompassing pediatrics, neuroscience, theories and research methods, physical development, social development, cognitive development, psychopathology and parenting. The contributors also look at cultural issues, sex differences and the history of child development.