Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
RaiderSearch, GRCC's Library Catalog
Search for books, ebooks, and media in the GRCC Library.
Sociology Course Specific Handouts
Databases are listed in the order of suggested use.
SocINDEX with Full Text
This database covers sociology and related disciplines and features full text for 397 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1908, and 150 "priority" coverage journals. This database also includes full text for more than 720 books and monographs, and full text for 6,743 conference papers.
This is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, and Humanities.
JSTOR provides access to the highest-quality academic journals, books, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
A broad range of topics is covered in this general database, which includes full-text articles from thousands of periodicals as well as some reference books.
Academic Search Complete
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals
An interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
Family history resource including more than 6 billion historical records from the United States, Europe, Latin America, and other regions
The American Psychological Association database for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. This is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health
Newsbank: America's News
News articles, 1978 - current, from 1,916 sources covering all 50 states and 3 territories.
US Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. Includes exclusive access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access to The Wall Street Journal. US Newsstream also offers one of the largest collections of local and regional newspapers.
International Newsstream provides the most recent news content outside of the US and Canada, with archives which stretch back decades featuring newspapers, newswires, and news sites. The full-text format
Includes more than 660 of the world's top newspapers, including The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications.
Full-text coverage of newspapers, magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press in America. Includes a broad range of critical issues confronting contemporary society, such as ecology and the environment, grassroots organizing, labor, indigenous peoples, and public policy. Right-click, then open a new tab to view these online tutorials.
is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press
Subjects:Applied Technology & Manufacturing
, Criminal Justice & Law
, Education and Child Development
, General Reference
, Job Training
, Mechanical & Architectural Design
, Music & Theater
, Physical Sciences
, Social Sciences
, Workforce Training