Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Periodicals for Arabic Language Studies
Journal of Arabic & Islamic Studies
This international, peer-reviewed, open access, academic journal is the world's most widely read journal in the field of Arabic, Islamic and Middle Eastern Studies. History, language, literature & culture.
Selected Publications from GRCC Library Collections
A Frequency Dictionary of Arabic by
Call Number: 492.7 B858 2011 (c.1 reference, c.2 circulating)
Publication Date: 2011-04-07
A Frequency Dictionary of Arabic is an invaluable tool for all learners of Arabic, providing a list of the 5,000 most frequently used words in Modern Standard Arabic (MSA) as well as several of the most widely spoken Arabic dialects. Based on a 30-million-word corpus of Arabic which includes written and spoken material from the entire Arab world, this dictionary provides the user with detailed information for each of the 5,000 entries, including English equivalents, a sample sentence, its English translation, usage statistics, an indication of genre variation, and usage distribution over several major Arabic dialects.
Concise Oxford English-Arabic Dictionary of Current Usage by
Call Number: 492.7 C748
Publication Date: 1983-02-03
This convenient pocket dictionary--an abridged and updated edition of the acclaimed Oxford English-Arabic Dictionary of Current Usage--is designed for both the English speaker learning Arabic and the Arabic speaker learning English. It records the different levels of usage found in newspapers, radio, television, and films, providing major Arabic dialectal equivalents for familiar, colloquial, and slang words. Ideal for the student or traveler, the dictionary includes:
Modern Standard Arabic Grammar by
Publication Date: 2011-04-26
Paper copies only. Modern Standard Arabic Grammar is a comprehensive guide that introduces readers to the basic structure and grammar of the Arabic language. Its features include: Comprehensive coverage of Arabic grammar and structure in current standard use (MSA), from entry level to advanced proficiency; Balanced treatment of the phonological, syntactic, and morphological rules of the Arabic language; An intuitive presentation of grammar rules and structures, in order of frequency and functional use; Straightforward explanations with minimum linguistic jargon and terminology, explaining the key issues. Packed throughout with symbols, tables, diagrams, and illustrative examples, this book is essential reading for anyone in the early years of studying the language.
Everyday Arabic Dictionary by
Call Number: 492.7 Ev27
Publication Date: 2011-05-24
Get more out of your Arabic language resource with Everyday Arabic Dictionary! This dictionary emphasizes the benefits that print can most effectively provide--a resource that encourages study rather than simply a look-up tool. Everyday Arabic Dictionary focuses on high-frequency vocabulary and contains a special supplement of everyday conversational phrases: greetings, small talk, general pleasantries, introductions, agreeing, disagreeing, disputes, launching a conversation, concluding a conversation, and farewells. An color insert of commonplace vocabulary illustrates home, town, and work terms.