Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Communications Studies Course Specific Handouts
Haven't got a topic? These links lead you to LONG lists ofn a myriad of topics; you're sure to see something to spark your interest!
Library & Learning Commons Tour
Communications Databases - Find Articles, etc.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
A broad range of topics is covered in this general database, which includes full-text articles from thousands of periodicals as well as some reference books.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text scholarly journals. - Use the [Advanced Search] function to limit your results to the [Journal Filters] for disciplines including Communication Studees, Language & Literature, Linguistics, Psychology, and, Sociology. JSTOR generally has few full-text titles published in the last 4 years, but does have a wealth of scholarly older full-text full-run journals.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Consider this database for examples of persuasive communications.
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Persuasive communications: Includes guides to debate, developing arguments, and writing position papers.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central contains over 125 Full-Text English language periodicals focused on communications. This is a great selection for recently published articles.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
The American Psychological Association PsycARTICLES database is a full-text subset of the more comprehensive PsycINFO database. PsycARTICLES contains more than 153,000 articles from nearly 80 journals published by the American Psychological Association. Coverage spans 1894 to the present and nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
The American Psychological Association database for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. This is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Full-text articles from PsycARTICLES are contained in PsycINFO.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Mostly full-text. Comprehensive sociology research database covering the broad spectrum of sociological study, including Communication studies. The database utilizes subject headings from a built-in sociological thesaurus for better search results.
Other Subject Guides of Interest
GRCC's Communication Studies Department