Subject Guides: Mechanical and Architectural Design: AR 111 Resources

Researching GRCC Buildings

The buildings on the campus can be researched utilizing materials at the GRCC Archives and other sources. The archives is located in RJF 514 and appointments can be made by contacting Mike Klawitter at mklawitt@grcc.edu

Some of the materials available include:

Dedication programs for all of the campus buildings that were newly constructed.
Design/specification manuals for some buildings.
Blueprints for some buildings.
Photographs, including some of various stages of building construction.

Researching Grand Rapids Buildings

Articles and websites

Books

The Art and Architecture of Fountain Street Church by Judd, Dorothy Leonard
Publication Date: 1969
Grand Rapids in Vintage Postcards by Thomas R. Dilley
Call Number: 977.456 D583gv
ISBN: 9780738539508
Publication Date: 2005-08-03
The history of Grand Rapids during the late 19th and early 20th centuries has been documented in the postcards of the period. Hundreds of scenes of buildings and institutions, and the people who lived, worked, and played here were recorded on these cards.
Grand Rapids Then and Now by James VanVulpen
Call Number: 977.456 V379g
ISBN: 0961770813
Publication Date: 1988-12-01
Historic Photos of Grand Rapids by Karolee R. Hazlewood
Call Number: 977.456 H339
ISBN: 9781596524736
Publication Date: 2009-01-15
Historic Photos of Grand Rapids explores that past in images depicting a range of subjects, including the furniture industry, the Flood of 1904, recreational activities, the Pantlind Hotel, the original Ada Covered Bridge spanning the Thornapple River, civic celebrations, a 1941 Monroe Avenue, the 1889 County Building, and countless others. These striking black-and-white images are from the collections of the Grand Rapids Public Library's History and Special Collections Department.

Research Facilities

City Archives and Records Center
They have the City of Grand Rapids Assessors Department files which includes building plans, permits, and photographs.
Grand Rapids History Center
Contains city directories, extending indexing to local newspapers, photos, Sanborn Fire Insurance maps, and Grand Rapids Building Collection.
Grand Rapids Public Museum
Link to a search for buildings.

Books on Michigan Architecture

Mid-Michigan Modern by Susan J. Bandes
Call Number: 720.103 B222
ISBN: 9781611862164
Publication Date: 2016-10-01
A detailed narrative discussing more than 130 buildings including government, commercial, academic, school, and library buildings from through out Mid-Michigan. This book explores buildings by renowned architects such as Frank Lloyd Wright, Alden B. Dow, and the Keck brothers, but focuses more heavily on regional architects whose work was strongly influenced by international modern styles.
Buildings of Michigan by Kathryn Bishop Eckert; Pauline Saliga (Prepared for Publication by)
Call Number: 720.9774 EC57b 2012
ISBN: 9780813931579
Publication Date: 2012-05-14
This book explores Michigan's history and covers the full spectrum of high-style and vernacular architecture and the building materials particular to the state. Entries for over 950 buildings.
Great Architecture of Michigan by John Gallagher; Balthazar Korab (Photographer)
Call Number: 720.9774 G135
ISBN: 9780981614403
Publication Date: 2008-09-01
A collection of 150 of Michigan's most architecturally significant buildings including churches, theaters, office towers, stadiums, and government buildings.