Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Steps for a Basic Research Process
Step 4 -- No Luck so far, Refine Your Topic
Do you like what you found during step 3?
No: Go back to step one and refine your topic.
Yes: Go to Step Five.
Step 5-- Resource Suggestions tfor Collecting and Saving Sources
Collect and Save Sources
As your are researching when you find an article or source you want to use in your research, evaluate it, then save it for later.
Most databases offer you the option of :
- Emailing it to yourself
- Printing it
- Exporting it to Google Drive
- Downloading it to your personal computer
Look for the icons to perform these operations.
Step 5 CRAAP Test
The CRAAP Test is an acronym for a short list of criteria used to evaluate sources.
Currency: The timeliness of the information.
- When was the source published, posted and /or updated?
- Is content current or out-of date ?
Relevance: Does the information fit your needs.
- Is it related to your topic or answer your question?
- Who is the intended audience?
Authority: The source of the information.
- Who is responsible for it, who is the author/publisher/source/sponsor?
- Do they have good credentials?
- Is the source from a credible website or domain? examples: .edu .gov .org
Accuracy: Is the information reliability, truthful, and correct.
- Where does the information come from?
- Is the information supported by evidence?
- Has the information been reviewed or refereed?
- Are there spelling, grammar, or other typographical errors?
Purpose: Why was this source created.
- What is the purpose of the information? to inform? teach? sell? entertain? persuade?
- Do the authors/sponsors make their intentions or purpose clear?
- Is the information fact? opinion? propaganda?Does the point of view appear objective and impartial?
- Are there political, ideological, cultural, religious, institutional, or personal biases?
This is a modified version of a document created by Sarah Blakeslee at Meriam Library, CSU Chico.
Step 3 -- Suggestions to Help You Find Sources
Resources to help you find sources for your topic.
Step 3 -- Search these Databases - Find Articles, etc.
In addition to OneSearch, try these databases for news, magazine, and journal articles for writing your papers:
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
A broad range of topics is covered in this general database, which includes full-text articles from thousands of periodicals as well as some reference books.
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
This is a great database to help you understand the pro's and con's of different debatable topics. It's also a handy place to see a list of really interesting topics if you need paper topic ideas and don't know where to start.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
This is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, and Humanities.
An interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
Ferguson's Career Guidance Center This link opens in a new window
Covers over 3800 careers in job profiles found in articles from books; discover job & industry job cluster profiles; read about job-hunting and workplace skills; view career & industry resources, and take a career interest assessment. Ferguson's also provides college planning and financial aid basics.
Grand Rapids Press This link opens in a new window
Online access to the Grand Rapids press from 2000-current. See also MLIVE: http://www.mlive.com/
Step 3 -- RaiderSearch, GRCC's Library Catalog
Search for books, ebooks, and media in the GRCC Library.
If you find a physical book, video or CD you want to use, you may stop in to get it or contact the library to have it mailed to you.
Step 3 -- Google Search
Use this link to narrow down by Site or Domain; use .gov for government resource and .edu for educational resources.