Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding & Using Images
Ethical use of image resources includes:
- having permission to reuse the source;
- crediting the image source appropriately; and,
- as academics, to include the image in the bibliography of the document or presentation.
For more on this topic, please read: Re-using Photos Legally: More than Copy-&-Paste. Contact your liaison librarian with questions.
Through the Camera Lens CC Attribution Photos by Lanty
Cell: An Image Library
free public repository of "reviewed and annotated images, videos, and animations of cells from a variety of organisms, showcasing cell architecture, intracellular functionalities, and both normal and abnormal processes."
"a convenient access to search services provided by other independent organizations. CC has no control over the results that are returned. Do not assume that the results displayed in this search portal are under a CC license."
Creative Commons Protoype
2/2017 - try this prototype out - easy to use
This popular photo site may have the images you want, but you must examine the rights for each image individually. There is no search option to limit your results to public domain, Creative Commons license, or copyright free images.
Get image results on the screen; then click the cog icon (on the right) and select [Advanced Search.] Near the bottom of that screen, find the [Usage rights] field, and select [Free to use or share]. Investigate each photo you intend to use, as additional information, including how the image must be credited, is usually provided.
GRCC Archival Collection
Contact Mike Klawitter, GRCC Archivist, for images. 616-234-3473 or email@example.com
You must request a GRCC logon for this resource. Photoshelter contains photos that depict students, faculty, and staff on the GRCC campuses. This system replaces Widen.
HEAL: Health Education Assets Library
over 22,000 freely available digital materials for health sciences education (1971-2011)
IStock by Getty Images
fee-based service providing stock photos, vectors, videos and music clips
MedPix - National Library of Medicine
free open-access online database of medical images, teaching cases, and clinical topics, integrating images and textual metadata including over 12,000 patient case scenarios, 9,000 topics, and nearly 59,000 images.
Metropolitan Museum of Art
The Met implemented an Open Access policy, making images of artworks it believes to be in the public domain widely and freely available for unrestricted use, and at no cost, in accordance with the Creative Commons Zero (CC0) designation and the Terms and Conditions of this website. It also makes available data from the entire online collection―both works it believes to be in the public domain and those under copyright or other restrictions―including basic information such as title, artist, date, medium, and dimensions. This data is available to all in accordance with the Creative Commons Zero (CC0) designation. Met content can also be found in ARTstor, a licensed database.
National Gallery Collection (London)
Image collection - High definition images with metadata from the National Gallery, London.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
This "Debate & Controversy" database includes infographics on social science topics (with citations!!!) - it's worth taking a look.
Public Health Image Library
"Much of the information critical to the communication of public health messages is pictorial rather than text-based. Created by a Working Group at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), the PHIL offers an organized, universal electronic gateway to CDC's pictures. We welcome public health professionals, the media, laboratory scientists, educators, students, and the worldwide public to use this material for reference, teaching, presentation, and public health messages. The content is organized into hierarchical categories of people, places, and science, and is presented as single images, image sets, and multimedia files."
RemoveBG Remove Image Background
free or subscription models - remove the background from images - works great!
Science Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Use the [Image Quick View Collection] and the [Science Image Collection] found under [Images] on the top toolbar.
fee-based service providing stock photos, illustrations, vectors, and videos on demand or by subscription
Unsplash grants you an irrevocable, nonexclusive, worldwide copyright license to download, copy, modify, distribute, perform, and use photos from Unsplash for FREE, including for commercial purposes, without permission from or attributing the photographer or Unsplash.