Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search RaiderSearch, GRCC's Library Catalog
Search for books, ebooks, and audiovisual materials in the GRCC Library.
Try a [Word] search for your topic, then [Modify Search] and Limit to [Location = Reference - 1st floor.]
Library & Learning Commons Tour
Reference Databases - Find Articles, etc.
Biography Index Past and Present This link opens in a new window
Biography Index: Past and Present features retrospective coverage from Biography Index back to its first publication in 1946. It indexes articles and books, autobiographies, bibliographies, biographies, critical studies, fiction, drama, pictorial works, poetry, juvenile literature, obituaries, journals, collections of letters, book reviews, and interviews.
College Source Online This link opens in a new window
Contains 63,000+ digital college catalogs, institution profiles, and transcript keys. Use this one to discover which colleges have programs in your chosen career field. See also the [Colleges & Scholarships]
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Terrific source for articles from over 600 "real" reference BOOKS on: Art, Business, Food & Beverage, General Reference, Geography, History, Language, Law, Literature, Medicine, Music, Philosophy, Psychology, Religion, Science, Social Sciences, and Technology
Ferguson's Career Guidance Center This link opens in a new window
Covers over 3800 careers in job profiles found in articles from books; discover job & industry job cluster profiles; read about job-hunting and workplace skills; view career & industry resources, and take a career interest assessment. Ferguson's also provides college planning and financial aid basics.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Gale Virtual Reference Library offers online access to authoritative full-text content in a variety of subject areas.
Handbook of Chemistry & Physics Online This link opens in a new window
Provides broad coverage of all types of physical science data commonly encountered by scientists and engineers. It is a concise, reliable reference source spanning the full range of the physical sciences and focusing on key data that are needed by R&D professionals, engineers, and students. This is the online version of the 89th edition of the Handbook of Chemistry and Physics.
Learning Express Library
Online test preparation materials include the ACT, ASVAB, Civil Service, Cosmetology, EMS, Firefighter, GED, GMAT, GRE, Law Enforcement, Paramedic, PPST, Real Estate, SAT, United States Citizenship and more. Learning Express provides test preparation materials designed for all ages, elementary students through adults. This testing resource also provides instant scoring and customized feedback.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Provides reference materials on authors of both fiction and nonfiction. Includes bibliographical and biographical information, literary criticism and contextual information.
MADCAD This link opens in a new window
Contains the fulltext of the following Michigan codes: 2006 Michigan Building Code, 2006 Michigan Mechanical Code, 2006 Michigan Plumbing Code, 2006 Michigan Rehabilitation of Existing Building Code, 2006 Michigan Residential Code
Oxford English Dictionary Online This link opens in a new window
Contains the complete text of the OED's 20-volume Second Edition and 3-volume Additions Series. Also includes draft material from the current OED project, representing the latest progress towards a completely revised and updated Third Edition. The OED online can be used to perform simple searches for word definitions, or for full-text searching of all OED's definitions, etymologies and quotations through the Search function. Updated quarterly.
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
comprises the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, second edition, edited by Stanley Sadie and John Tyrrell (London, 2001), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, edited by Stanley Sadie (London, 1992), and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, second edition, edited by Barry Kernfeld (London, 2002).
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
An online premium reference library that includes subject dictionaries, the World Encyclopedia, English dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries of French, German, Spanish, and Italian, and entries from Oxford Companions and the Oxford Dictionary of Quotations.
Salem Online This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to reference works in history, literature, and health including the following titles: Critical Survey of Poetry, Genetics & Inherited Conditions, Encyclopedia of American Immigration, Great Events in History, Great Lives in History, Milestone Documents in African American History, and Milestone Documents in American History.
Other Subject Guides of Interest