Reference: Reference - Places

he Houghton Mifflin Dictionary of Geography is a comprehensive, fully up-to-date dictionary of geographic place names that also includes the major peoples, ethnic groups, and languages of the world.

Formerly known as the Environmental Justice Geographic Assessment Tool, this interactive mapping system was developed by the US Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) that allows users to produce maps and reports about any US geographic area.

very cool! Maps the global distribution of all species with data from: Global Biodiversity Information Facility; the International Union for Conservation of Nature; the World Wildlife Fund; and scientists' databases (local inventories). MOL contains information for @ 25,000 species, including all described birds, mammals, amphibians, and North American freshwater fishes; other organisms may be added later.

The MLA Language Map is intended for use by students, teachers, and anyone interested in learning about the linguistic and cultural composition of the United States.

Maplandia.com provides the searchable world gazetteer based on Google Maps, the most comprehensive online satellite imagery ever available.

Federal entity tasked with managing the standardization of geographic names for lakes and mountains, and also approves standard spellings of features. ... now provides information on foreign names and on the names of geographical features located undersea and in Antarctica.

Worldmapper is a collection of world maps, where territories are re-sized on each map according to the subject of interest.