Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Children and Crime by
Call Number: 362.88 T156
Publication Date: 2018-08-02
Children and Crime offers a multidisciplinary and research-based approach to the study of child maltreatment and juvenile delinquency. Topics covered include child neglect, physical abuse, sexual abuse, and psychological abuse. Later chapters address how children come into conflict with the law and discuss gang membership and substance abuse.
The War on Kids by
Call Number: 364.36 D832
Publication Date: 2017-11-01
In the United States, adolescents are routinely transferred out of juvenile court and into adult criminal court without any judicial oversight. Once in adult court, children can be sentenced without regard for their youth. Juveniles are housed in adult correctional facilities, they may be held in solitary confinement, and they experience the highest rates of sexual and physical assault among inmates. This book reveals how the United States went from being a pioneer to an international pariah in its juvenile sentencing practices. In addition, The War on Kids maps out concrete steps that states can take to correct the course of American juvenile justice.
Complicated Lives by
Call Number: 364.36 L881
Publication Date: 2017-06-12
Complicated Lives focuses on the lives of 65 drug-using girls in the juvenile justice system (living in group homes, a residential treatment center, and a youth correctional facility) who grew up in families characterized by parental drug use, violence, and child maltreatment. The author provides an optimistic prescription for reform and improvement of the lives of these young women and presents a number of suggestions ranging from enhanced cultural competency training for all juvenile justice professionals to developing stronger collaborations between youth and adult serving systems and agencies.
Trapped in a Vice by
Call Number: 364.36 C839
Publication Date: 2018-01-30
Trapped in a Vice explores the consequences of a juvenile justice system that is aimed at promoting change in the lives of young people, yet ultimately relies upon tools and strategies that enmesh them in a system that they struggle to move beyond. Trapped in a Vice explores the lives of the young people and adults in the criminal justice system, revealing the ways that they struggle to manage the expectations of that system; these stories from the ground level of the justice system demonstrate the complex exchange of policy and practice.
Criminal Justice Databases
Criminal Justice Database This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Criminal Justice Periodicals Index is a comprehensive database of U.S. and international criminal justice journals. The database provides research support for students interested in careers in criminal justice, law enforcement, corrections administration, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law, and industrial security. The database includes abstract and indexing for 240 titles, with more than 80 available in full-text. Right-click, then open a new tab to view these online tutorials.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Mostly full-text. Comprehensive sociology research database covering the broad spectrum of sociological study, including Communication studies. The database utilizes subject headings from a built-in sociological thesaurus for better search results.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
The American Psychological Association database for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. This is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Full-text articles from PsycARTICLES are contained in PsycINFO.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
A broad range of topics is covered in this general database, which includes full-text articles from thousands of periodicals as well as some reference books.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
This is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, and Humanities.
Journals Addressing Juvenile Justice