Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Graphic Novels have moved!
Graphic novels are now located at the beginning of fiction collection on the 2nd floor. Books about graphic novels/cartooning (drawing, history, crticism, etc) are located in the 741.5s.
Browse the Collection
You can browse the phyiscal stacks by call number or browse the online catalog by call number or subjects. Subject links include streaming video, ebooks, journals, as well as print books!
Library & Learning Commons Tour
Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, architecture. Includes full text for more than 300 periodicals, as well as indexing additional periodicals, art dissertations, and art reproductions.
Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
Index of the humanities literature, including archaeology, art, classical studies, folklore, history, journalism, language and literature, linguistics, performing arts, political criticism, philosophy, and religion.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to the highest-quality academic journals, books, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Oh No Robot
A free search engine service for webcomics.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Mostly full-text. Comprehensive sociology research database covering the broad spectrum of sociological study, including Communication studies. The database utilizes subject headings from a built-in sociological thesaurus for better search results.
New Titles in Graphic Novels
Wonder Woman Unbound by
Publication Date: 2014-04-01
This close look at Wonder Woman’s history portrays a complicated heroine who is more than just a female Superman with a golden lasso and bullet-deflecting bracelets. The original Wonder Woman was ahead of her time, advocating female superiority and the benefits of matriarchy in the 1940s. At the same time, her creator filled the comics with titillating bondage imagery, and Wonder Woman was tied up as often as she saved the world.
Good Riddance by
Publication Date: 2013-05-07
When you think you live in a Norman Rockwell painting--married 18 years, three kids, beautiful old house in the country, successful career as a writer--you don't expect there's another side to the canvas. Until you read a lovesick e-mail to your husband . . . that didn't come from you! Good Riddance is an honest and funny graphic memoir about suffering through and surviving divorce.
Government Issue by
Publication Date: 2011-11-01
Since the 1940s, federal and state government agencies have published comics to disseminate public information. Comics legends Will Eisner and Milton Caniff produced comics for the army. Li’l Abner joined the navy. Walt Kelly’s Pogo told parents how much TV their kids should watch, Bert the Turtle showed them how to survive a nuclear attack, and Dennis the Menace took “A Poke at Poison.” Smokey Bear had his own comic, and so did Zippy, the USPS mascot.
Hip Hop Family Tree by
Publication Date: 2013-12-06
The lore of the early days of hip hop has become the stuff of myth, so what better way to document this fascinating, epic true story than in another great American mythological medium -- the comic book? From exciting young talent and self-proclaimed hip hop nerd Ed Piskor, acclaimed for his hacker graphic novel Wizzywig, comes this explosively entertaining, encyclopedic history of the formative years of the music genre that changed global culture.
Graphic Novel News From GRCC