Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
New Titles in Theater
Theater Careers by
Publication Date: 2012-06-01
Theater Careers is designed to empower aspiring theater professionals to make savvy, informed decisions through a concise overview of how to prepare for and find work in the theater business.
In the Studio with Joyce Piven by
Publication Date: 2012-11-27
In the Studio with Joyce Piven takes you directly inside the creative process of the renowned Piven Workshop led by Joyce and Byrne Piven. The Piven Theatre Workshop in Chicago has nurtured theatre artists celebrated in the US, Ireland and Britain including Joan Cusack, John Cusack, Jeremy Piven, Aidan Quinn, Sarah Ruhl, Lili Taylor and Kate Walsh. Co-authors Joyce Piven and Susan Applebaum describe the Workshop techniques (developed and refined over forty years of theatrical training) as a virtual fly-on-the-wall experience, taking the reader inside the director's studio, classroom, and green room. Part One introduces the central principles of game work and the concept of 'encounter' - finding the emotional experience at the heart of a set of given circumstances - and ends with a chapter on the role of story theatre as a bridge between games and play text. Part Two takes you into the classroom with Joyce Piven through fully-detailed transcripts of physical and vocal workshops on play, agreement, specificity, transformation and story theatre, accompanied by explanations and tips for teaching. The book ends with an alphabetical appendix of games taught by Byrne and Joyce Piven based on their work with Paul Sills and Viola Spolin, Etienne Decroux, Uta Hagen and Mira Rostova. A highly regarded guide and resource for actors, teachers, and directors, for anyone interested in the creative process of acting and actor training.
An Actor's Guide--Making It in New York City by
Call Number: 331.702 AC87a
Publication Date: 2011-05-17
For any actor in or on the way to New York City, this is the definitive source for advice, winning strategies, marketing techniques, and invaluable insights to being a successful New York actor. Aspiring and established professionals will find this thorough and up-to-the-minute volume chock full of resources and advice about auditioning, making professional connections, promoting one's self, seeking opportunities in nontraditional venues, finding an apartment, securing "survival jobs," understanding actor unions, getting headshots, and furthering one's actor training in New York. This guide also details working as a film extra, careers in print modeling, scams and rip-offs to avoid, opportunities for actors with disabilities, and using the Internet to the fullest advantage. Included are in-depth interviews with legendary show business figures such as actor Henry Winkler, casting director Juliet Taylor, and theater director Joseph Chaikin as well top talents from the fields of film, television, stage, commercials, and talent agencies. Written by a professional New York actor with over thirty years of experience, this meticulously researched guide will give actors the tools they need to survive and thrive in New York show business.
Actors' Yearbook 2014 by
Call Number: 792.028 Ac87
Publication Date: 2013-12-05
Actors' Yearbook is an established and respected directory that enables actors to find work in stage, screen and radio. It is the only directory to provide detailed information for each listing and specific advice on how to approach companies and individuals, saving hours of further research. From agents and casting directors to producing theatres, showreel companies and photographers, Actors' Yearbook editorially selects only the most relevant and reputable contacts for the actor.
A broad range of topics is covered in this general database, which includes full-text articles from thousands of periodicals as well as some reference books.
Humanities Full Text
Index of the humanities literature, including archaeology, art, classical studies, folklore, history, journalism, language and literature, linguistics, performing arts, political criticism, philosophy, and religion.
JSTOR provides access to the highest-quality academic journals, books, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Fulltext Theater Journals and Magazines
Browse the Collection
You can broswe the phyiscal stacks by call number or browse the online catalog by call number or subjects. Subject links include streaming video, ebooks, journals, as well as print books!