Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Phi Theta Kappa Honors Program Guide
3 Types of Research Questions
Descriptive, Comparative and Causal
Civic Scholar 2020
This issue shares award-winning Honors in Action projects began as explorations of Phi Theta Kappa’s interdisciplinary 2018/2019 Honors Study Topic, Transformations: Acknowledging, Assessing, and Achieving Change.
Choosing & Using Valid Sources
Choosing the best resources usually starts out by choosing the best research databases for the job. Below you'll see a list of suggested databases to start your research on Inheritance and Legacy.
General Academic Databases
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new windowA broad range of topics is covered in this general database, which includes full-text articles from thousands of periodicals as well as some reference books.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowA scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. This database offers coverage of information in many areas of study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new windowThis is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, and Humanities.
Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new windowThe Chronicle of Higher Education is the primary source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators.
ERIC (Education Resource Information Center) This link opens in a new window large professional education database. Search for [Descriptors] including: Service Learning, Character Education, Public Service, Volunteer Teaching, Citizenship Education, School Community Programs, Student Participation, School Community Relationship, Experiential Learning, Student Volunteers.
Debate / Pro-Con Databases
CQ Researcher Online This link opens in a new window Original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news, including science issues.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new windowOpposing Viewpoints in Context is an online resource covering social issues. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes.
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window This is a great database to help you understand the pro's and con's of different debatable topics. It's also a handy place to see a list of really interesting topics if you need paper topic ideas and don't know where to start.
Social Sciences Databases
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowis an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window The American Psychological Association database for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. This is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Full-text articles from PsycARTICLES are contained in PsycINFO.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window Mostly full-text. Comprehensive sociology research database covering the broad spectrum of sociological study, including Communication studies. The database utilizes subject headings from a built-in sociological thesaurus for better search results.
Primary Source Databases
Barriers to Community College Student Utilization of Support Services
Other Subject Guides of Interest