Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Assistive Technology Tools
Dolphin E-Z Reader
Comprehensive and free reader for electronic books including e-Pub files.
Free text to speech program that supports wide variety of formats for listening to electronic text materials.
Use this text to speech software on-line or with downloaded software. Converts electronic text to audio format. It can be used to create MP3's for future listening.
EPub Readers Tested
Comprehensive grid of the results of testing done on epub readers. Epub readers can allow readers to have text to speech options for reading when an Epub file of a book is available.
Voice Typing Google Docs
Use speech to text in your Google Docs
Dragon anywhere is part of the Dragon dictation software offerings. Dictate notes and use text to speech option for writing and creating content.
Use mind-mapping to create outlines of papers using visual charts and graphics to structure or organize a paper.
Otter Meeting Notes
This app helps with audio recording and provides a transcript of the lecture being recorded.
Audio recording and note taking app. Many features available for free (limited time per recording). Additional features available with upgrade.
App based organization to keep track of assignments, deadlines, with calendar integration features.
Remember The Milk
A "to do" list with reminders, functional settings and notification to remember tasks.
MinimaList on iOS
Simple list making tool. Designed to stay very clear with few visual distractions.
This site includes collective resources to adaptive equipment and alternative methods available for accessing computers.
Type One Handed
Learn one hand typing for free.
Finding Assistive Technology on Campus
AT Software Locations on Campus
Use this list to find software that is already loaded on on-campus computers for your use.
JAWS Screen Reader
JAWS is available on some computers across campus. Review the AT software locations list to find where it is available.
Read and Write Gold
Read and Write Gold is a text to speech software that has reading and note taking features. Available on some GRCC computers and in the DSS Testing Center.
Dragon is a speech to text dictation software that allows for voice control and voice writing. Available on some GRCC computers.
Research and Information Regarding Assistive Technology
You can find information through searching databases or reading through the following journals:
Some websites that offer clearinghouse information about Assistive Technology include:
Assistive Technologies by Master the assistive strategies you need to make confident clinical decisions and help improve the quality of life for people with disabilities. Based on the Human Activity Assistive Technology (HAAT) model developed by Al Cook, Sue Hussey and Jan Polgar, Assistive Technologies: Principles & Practice, 5th Edition, provides detailed coverage of the broad range of devices, services, and practices that comprise assistive technology. This new text offers a systematic process for ensuring the effective application of assistive technologies - and focuses on the relationship between the human user and the assisted activity within specific contexts. It features over 30 new photos and illustrations, as well as, updated chapters and case studies that reflect current technology. Human Activity Assistive Technology (HAAT) framework locates assistive technology within common, everyday contexts for more relevant application. Focus on clinical application guides application of concepts to real-world situations. Study questions and chapter summaries in each chapter help assessment of understanding and identification of areas where more study is needed. Coverage of changing AT needs throughout the lifespan emphasizes how AT fits into people's lives and contributes to their full participation in society. Principles and practice of assistive technology provide the foundation for effective reasoning. Ethical issues content provides vital information to guide AT service delivery. Explicit applications of the HAAT model in each of the chapters on specific technologies and more emphasis on the interactions among the elements make content even easier to understand. New! Thoroughly updated chapters to reflect current technology and practice. New! Expanded discussion on assistive robotics and smart technologies. New! Review of global initiatives on Assistive Technology. New! Updated art program with 30+ new photos and illustrations. New! Updated case studies to reflect changes in technology and practice since last edition.
Publication Date: 2019-12-18
Handbook of Electronic Assistive Technology by Electronic Assistive Technology (EAT) is a subset of a wider range of products and services known as Assistive Technology (AT). AT is designed to support and enable people with disabilities, either acquired or congenital, to participate in activities with greater independence and safety. With a global aging population, it has an important role to play in enabling and supporting those with disability and their carers. Handbook of Electronic Assistive Technology discusses a range of commonly available or emerging electronic assistive technologies. It provides historical background, advice when assessing for these devices and references different models of provision. It includes both medical and engineering aspects of provision. It is anticipated that the book will support students, trainees, and newly qualified Assistive Technology Practitioners to develop their understanding of the field, by considering the variables that could potentially influence the decision-making process when assessing for and providing this equipment. It also provides a reference point for those already practicing in this field and offers coverage of a broader range of technologies than clinicians may be exposed to, in their daily work This is the first reference book to focus on a comprehensive set of electronic assistive technologies and discuss their clinical application. Provides comprehensive coverage of electronic assistive devices Gives an overview of physical and cognitive pathologies and approaches for utilizing electronic assistive devices for individuals affected by these pathologies Covers essentials for assistive technology practitioners, human factors and technologies
Publication Date: 2018-11-15