Skip to main content

Nursing: Nursing Central

What is Nursing Central?

Nursing Central tablet and phone imagesNursing Central is a source of disease, drug, and test information for nurses. Get quick answers wherever you need them—on your mobile device or the web.  

  • on mobile devices
  • on the web
  • downloadable to:  Apple Devices -  iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Blackberry. 

You MUST set up your account from a campus computer. Afterward, you may access resources on any internet-connected computer or device.

1.      Right-click on: http://nursing.unboundmedicine.com/nursingcentral/ub

2.      Click on [Login] in the upper right hand corner and  then click on [Register now] and  [continue].

3.      Fill out your personal information.

4.      You will receive an email with links to device apps; download the one that matches your device, and then log into your personal account.

Email Nan Schichtel, nursing librarian, with questions or to set up an appointment for a hands-on Nursing Central session.

Nursing Central Collection

Nursing Central & ADA Compliance

Nursing Central meets ADA goals through the accessibility tools in the mobile device. So, on the iPhone, iPod touch or iPad that would be under:

  • Settings
  • General
  • Accessibility.
  • Turn on VoiceOver, Zoom, Large Text etc.

Medline Journal Searching

Nursing Central provides access to the MEDLINE database, the largest biomedical database in the world, but  results provide links to publishers' full-text sites which may ask you to pay for full-text journal articles.  If you do so, it is at your own expense.

GRCC's Library provides access to the MEDLINE database, using the same search interface as CINAHL, the nursing database.  In GRCC's version, you will have access to the same content -  plus any full-text articles accessible through [Linked Full Text] links (see graphic below). If GRCC does not license an online version of the article you need, you may request a free full-text article from RaiderLoan.

MEDLINE linked fulltext link