Completely updated to include all the very latest vocabulary, this third edition of the Concise Oxford-Hachette French Dictionarycontains coverage of over 175,000 words and phrases, and 270,000 translations. It offers a comprehensive correspondence guide with sample letters, emails, and CVs, plus fun and informative cultural notes on life in the French-speaking world.
An ideal dictionary for students taking French in combination with a business qualification at college or for anyone doing business in the French-speaking world provides an exhaustive range of business vocabulary across many core areas including e-commerce and Internet-related terms. Detailed treatment of all vocabulary items is provided, along with thousands of example phrases illustrating important constructions. The extensive supplementary material offers sample business correspondence, including Curriculum Vitaes; faxes, emails, and invoices; lists of countries, nationalities, languages, and currencies; and guidance on using the telephone.
This dictionary covers all aspects of everyday business usage (office practice, buying and selling, banking, insurance, personal and corporate finance, the stock exchange, warehousing and distribution, and business travel). Differences between British and American usage are highlighted. Quotations are given from English and French magazines and newspapers to show how the terms are used in "real life". A supplement includes tables of currencies, sample business letters, contracts and other documents together with notes on telephone manner and country information.
This well-established and popular book provides students with all the linguistic background they need for studying any period of French literature. Starting with a brief description of the Vulgar Latin spoken in Gaul, and the earliest recorded forms of French, Professor Rickard traces the development of the language through the later Middle Ages and Renaissance to show how it became standardized in a near modern form in the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries.
Explains the fundamentals of the grammar in accessible and simple terms, helping students to put their learning into practice through a range of fun and engaging exercises. All the essential topics are covered, with chapters on verbs, nouns, adjectives, pronouns, determiners, prepositions, adverbs, negation, numerals, sentences, and clauses. Every grammatical point is illustrated with a range of authentic examples drawn from magazines and newspapers, covering many areas of contemporary life such as fashion, health issues, relationships and sport.
Explains points of French grammar and structure simply, then clarifies each with concrete examples. The examples use the language of real-life situations. Makes difficult topics, like the difference between mood and tense, even easier to understand. Numerous fill-in-the-blank and other exercises with delayed answers help cut down the time it takes readers to gain proficiency and confidence communicating in French.
Travel, medical, food and shopping terms are easy to learn with this popular study guide and reference. It also features words and up-to-date expressions commonly used at home and at work, including vocabulary for discussing professions, sports, entertainment and leisure activities. The convenient appendixes converting clothing and shoe sizes, listing common foods, ways of expressing timeand more make this a handy and indispensable reference.