Skip to main content

Library Services (LLC): Circulation

Help finding things in GRCC's Library & Learning Commons

RaiderCard Library Card

RaiderCard

Renewing Items Online

If you have library materials owned by GRCC, you may be able to renew them beyond the due date yourself!

  1. Connect to RaiderSearch Catalog.
  2. Logon (top right corner) using your last name and 7-digit Raider number.
  3. Follow the screen prompts to renew all titles, or just the ones you mark.  Note the new due date - and you're done!
  4. If you have any problems or questions about renewing, call LLC Circulation at 616-234-3872.

If you have an interlibrary loan item that you wish to renew, please contact the RaiderLoan office at 616-234-3749.  We cannot automatically renew those for you since the materials belong to another library - but we can ask if a renewal is available.

Renew RaiderSearch Catalog

Authenticating from an Off-Campus Location

When you select licensed resources from the Library website, a logon screen will appear.  Type in your last name and 7-digit Raider number - and you're "good to go."  If your name - Raider # combination does not work, contact the Library Circulation Desk at 616-234-3872.

 Raider Logon

Dewey Decimal System Call Numbers

RaiderSearch Catalog: will identify the location and/or call numbers of materials owned or licensed by GRCC's Library & Learning Commons.  Both traditional print and electronic resources are found in RaiderSearch Catalog. E-books, e-periodicals, and streaming media won't have assigned call numbers, but RaiderSearch will provide a link to the web-based resource. 

GRCC arranges its nonfiction collections using Dewey Decimal System (DDS) call numbers, the same system used by most public and school libraries.  DDS categories are:

  • 000s-General (including computers)
  • 100s-Philosophy and Psychology
  • 200s-Religion
  • 300s-Social Sciences
  • 400s-Languages
  • 500s-Math & Natural Sciences
  • 600s-Technology
  • 700s-Arts & Recreation
  • 800s-Literature
  • 900s-History & Geography

Location Guide - By Floor

1st Floor:

  • Reference Desk
  • Reference Collection
  • Computer Research Area
  • RaiderSearch Library Catalog
  • Circulation Desk
  • Course Reserve Desk
  • Black & White & Color Copiers / Scanners / Printers
  • Audiovisual (AV) Collection
  • Audiovisual (AV) Listening & Viewing
  • Return Drop Box outside Library

2nd floor:

  • Fiction, Nonfiction & Juvenile/Children’s Collections
  • Print Periodicals - including Print Indexes & Abstracts
  • Microform Reader / Printers 10¢
  • Black & White Copy machine – near RaiderLoan 10¢
  • RaiderSearch Catalog station
  • Computer Research Area
  • Information Literacy Classroom (rm. 206 – south side)
  • College Archives
  • Entrance to Tutoring Center

Location Guide - by Collection / Service

Reference titles do not circulate (1st Floor)

  • Encyclopedias
  • Dictionaries & Handbooks
  • Statistical Almanacs
  • E-Reference (with your Raider logon)

Audiovisuals (1st floor)

  • DVDs, Videos, CDs & Audiotapes
  • E-Resources (with your Raider logon)

E-Resources – (with your Raider logon)

  • E-books – over 131,000
  • E-periodicals – over 20,000
  • Databases – over 150
  • E-Audiovisuals – over 50,000

Circulating Collection (2nd floor)

  • Non-Fiction titles
  • Fiction titles (arranged by Authors’ last name)
  • Juvenile / Children’s Collection
  • E-books (with your Raider logon)
  • Oversize books

Periodicals

  • Magazines
  • Trade publications
  • Journals
  • Newspapers
  • Periodical Indexes (see also [Databases] on the library website)
  • E-Periodicals (with your Raider logon)

Archives (by appointment - 2nd floor)