For specific results on "teaching in an academic field", select a database from your academic discipline's [Subject Guides]. The databases are listed in the order of likely best results.
- ERIC Education Resource Information Center
ERIC should be your first stop when researching topics about higher education teaching & learning. ERIC contains more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966. View this online tutorial.
American Psychological Association’s (APA) database for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Full-text articles from PsycARTICLES are linked within PsycINFO so you won't have to search two separate databases.
- Education Full Text
Education Full Text includes in-depth coverage of special education and more than 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests. Subject coverage includes adult education, multicultural/ethnic education, teaching methods and much more. Some full-text
- Teacher Reference Center
Teacher Reference Center (TRC) indexes over 260 titles from teacher and administrator trade journals, periodicals, and books. This database provides coverage on key education topics such as Assessment, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, Science & Mathematics, and more for K-12 Teachers & Librarians. Right-click, then select an EBSCOhost tutorial from the top of the list.
- Academic OneFIle
Great source for full-text academic, scholarly articles
Every academic department and many college initiatives and service departments have been assigned a librarian. The liaison librarian is designated to be an information specialist for your department. Work of the liaison librarian may include:
- attending academic department meetings to better understand your curriculum needs
- creating and sustaining Subject Guides supporting your department
- handling collection development (selection & weeding) of the print, audiovisual media, and e-formatted materials making up the library collections supporting your department
- working on outside accreditation efforts (please contact your librarian one year prior to accreditors visits)
- one-on-one and/or department information literacy sessions for faculty
- advising on copyright issues
- creating information literacy materials for classes taught within the library's instructional program
- assisting departmental committees with research-related needs
If your department does not have a liaison librarian, please contact the Reference Desk at 616-234-3868.