This is the "Careers Home" page of the "Careers" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

See also Colleges & Scholarships
Last Updated: Nov 7, 2014 URL: http://subjectguides.grcc.edu/careers Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Careers Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

RaiderSearch, GRCC's Library Catalog

Search for books, ebooks, and media in the GRCC Library.

Search tips:

1.   Use a [Keyword] search for "vocational guidance" adding your field of interest after the phrase, like "vocational guidance nursing".


2.   Use a [Keyword] search for "careers" adding your field of interest after the word, like "careers construction".

Library & Learning Commons Tour

LLC Video Tour

      

    Other Subject Guides of Interest

    Careers Databases - Find Articles, Jobs Listings, etc.

    On-campus networked users may click into most of these databases directly.  Off-campus or wireless users will be asked for last name and 7-digit Raider number.  Some databases, where noted, have additional vendor/provider logons that will enhance your career selection, resume creation, and other service activity.

    • Ferguson's Career Guidance Center
      Covers over 3800 careers in job profiles found in articles from books; discover job & industry job cluster profiles; read about job-hunting and workplace skills; view career & industry resources, and take a career interest assessment. Ferguson's also provides college planning and financial aid basics.
    • Careers Internet Database
      Covers almost 300 careers. A special feature not found in most other databases is the "Professional Speaks" portion that details what a real workday is like for each profession. Contains Career Test, Resume Creator, and Career News.
    • Career Cruising
      For GRCC students. Create your own logon once you're inside Career Cruising so you can create an EDP (educational development plan) containing: an interest assessment; learning style inventory; and, list of jobs that match your interests. You can also find occupational information for hundreds of jobs, learn what a typical day's work is, find out about needed skills, read interviews with a job holder, and discover US & Michigan salary ranges.
    • Career Coach at GRCC
      Explore hundreds of potential careers and use tools to make informed decisions about your career and educational plans. This tool provides links to education and training available at GRCC for those specific careers. Find out more about: Regional employment descriptions; Career opportunities with occupational forecasts; Income potential;
    • Learning Express Library
      Practice tests for occupations, GED, college entrance, CLEP, workplace skill-building and citizenship. If you create a personal user registration once you are logged on, the system will save your tests and interests for the next time you log on.
    • Workforce Skills for 21st Century Success
      provides tools for improving basic workplace and job search skills, and for preparing job seekers for advanced occupational training. Lessons are self-paced, so you can learn at your own speed. Create an account so you can track your progress.
    • College Source Online
      Contains 63,000+ digital college catalogs, institution profiles, and transcript keys. Use this one to discover which colleges have programs in your chosen career field. See also the [Colleges & Scholarships] Subject Guide.
    • Films on Demand - Master Career & Technical Education Collection
      streaming videos
    • General OneFile
      general purpose article database with lots of full-text. For articles on specific careers, you may be better served by using a database specific to that subject or career (like: Business, Fashion & Interiors, Nursing, etc.)
    • ProQuest Research Library
      general purpose article database with lots of full-text. For articles on specific careers, you may be better served by using a database specific to that subject or career (like: Business, Fashion & Interiors, Nursing, etc.)
    • Michigan Career Explorer - Pure Michigan Talent Connect
      formerly MORE Michigan Occupational Reports for Exploration

    GRCC Career Assistance

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip