Skip to main content

English - Literature: Literature Websites

A subject guide to library resources on literature.

Evaluate Websites

Remember to always evaluate a website before using it for research purposes. 

Some criteria for evaluating websites include:

  • Accuracy
  • Authority
  • Coverage
  • Currency
  • Objectivity
  • Purpose

If you have any questions about the quality of a website, ask a librarian for help!

Recommended Websites

Internet Shakespeare Editions This website includes "scholarly, fully annotated texts of Shakespeare's plays, multimedia explorations of the context of Shakespeare's life and works, and records of his plays in performance." Includes a database of historical and current performance records.

Michigan Authors and Illustrators This website contains "information on authors and illustrators born in Michigan, who live in Michigan, or who have written books about or set in Michigan. Each entry includes biographical information, and lists of works by the person."

Poetry Foundation Information on poetry and poets, including a  search tool for poetry, a reading guide and online journal, and resources for events related to poetry.

Poets.org This site from The Academy of American Poets provides a search engine for poets and poetry, audio recordings of poets, and information about National Poetry Month.

The Walt Whitman Archive  A project to digitize Whitman's works. Recent additions include Whitman's letters from the Reconstruction years and his Civil War diaries.